For barrier-free use:

[Alt + 0] - To home page[Alt + 1] - To search[Alt + 2] - To main navigation[Alt + 3] - To subnavigation[Alt + 4] - To content[Alt + 5] - Contact

Mayors of Graz from 1870 - today

March 2003 until today: Siegfried Nagl
Mag. Siegfried Nagl © Fischer
Mag. Siegfried Nagl© Fischer

Born on April 18th, 1963 in Graz
Married, 3 daughters and 1 son
1982: graduated from Graz Commercial College
1988: M.A. in Social Sciences and Economics (Business Management)
1988: Managing Director, Klammerth, Graz
1992: Managing Partner of the family business
1996: Chair of the Grazer Innenstadt Initiative (Graz City Centre Initiative)
1996: Deputy Chair of the Österreichischer Wirtschaftsbund,
         (Austrian SME Union), Graz branch
1997: Deputy Chair of the Österreichischer Wirtschaftsbund,
         (Austrian SME Union), Styrian branch
Since March 1998: responsible within the City of Graz administration for finance,
                              properties, culture and agriculture
Since January 2000: Chair of the Graz branch of the Österreichische
                                Volkspartei (Austrian People´s Party)
Since 2002: Chair of the Kommunalpolitische Vereinigung Österreichs
                   (Austrian Local Politics Association)
Mayor of the City of Graz, Capital of the Province of Styria since 27 March 2003

January 10, 1984 - March 27, 2003: Alfred Stingl
Alfred Stingl 
Alfred Stingl

On January 10, 1985, Alfred Stingl took over the second half of DI Hasiba’s 1983 - 1988 term. Stingl was born in Graz on May 28, 1939. He worked as a typesetter, layout designer and proofreader.
1968 - 1973: SPÖ Styria’s secretary of education.
1968: District counselor
1973: Municipal counselor (youth department)
1980: Chairman of the SPÖ (Austrian Sozial Democtats) Graz.
1981: Vice Chairman of the SPÖ Styria and member of the SPÖ’s federal management board.
1982: Deputy Mayor (responsible for social and health services).
As Mayor, Stingl also oversaw the departments for social matters, statistics, elections and purchasing issues.

1983 - January 10, 1985: DI Franz Hasiba
DI Franz Hasiba 
DI Franz Hasiba

Hasiba was the ÖVP (Austrian People's Party) Mayor of the first half of the 1983 to 1988 term (the second term was served by Alfred Stingl, SPÖ).
Hasiba was born on August 3, 1932 in Graz. He worked as an agricultural engineer and served as Secretary of the ÖVP Styria (1966 - 1973) before becoming second Deputy Mayor (1973 - 1983).

1973 - 1983 DI DDr. Alexander Götz
DI DDr.Alexander Götz 
DI DDr.Alexander Götz

Götz was born on February 27, 1928 in Graz. In 1953, he graduated in Civil Engineering. He then served as a city administrator and also achieved PhDs in Law (1956) and Political Science (1958).

Between 1964 and 1973 he served as a third Deputy mayor, then becoming mayor in 1973.

Götz initiated Graz’s central one-way traffic system, championed the expansion of the Graz Congress, started construction of Plabutsch Tunnel (in 1980) and he also modernized teaching methods.

1960 - 1973: DI Gustav Scherbaum

Scherbaum was the 136th mayor of Graz. He was born on July 26, 1906 in Vienna. In 1930, aged 24, Scherbaum was sent to Graz by the employment office in Vienna to start work as a dyer with hat makers Pichler&Sons. In 1940 he earned a degree in chemistry from Graz Technical University. He returned to Graz after the war in 1946 and was entrusted with the preparatory work for the new gas works. He became a city counselor in 1953 and then deputy mayor in 1956. In 1960, after Dr. Speck was forced to resign for health reasons, the city counsel elected Scherbaum mayor by common consent. 
During his term of office, there was a particular emphasis on building new public housing and schools, renovating the city's bridges and reforming the city administration. For many years Scherbaum was also Styria’s chess champion.

1945 - 1960: Dr. Eduard Speck

Speck was a high school professor. He took office during the occupation of Graz by the Soviets, who ceded control of the city to the British Army on July 22, 1945. Speck served three terms as mayor. He advocated the construction of new schools and physical education, and was especially active in rebuilding the theatres of Graz. His efforts earned him the title "Musical Mayor".

1945: Engelbert Rückl

In May 1945, Rückl was appointed mayor by the Soviet occupational army. Just a few months later he had to resign due to health reasons, and died on March 25, 1946.

1938 - 1945: Dr. Julius Kaspar

Kaspar was a lawyer by profession and served as "Oberbürgermeister" (mayor) to the city of Graz under the National Socialist administration. Towards the end of the war, he repeatedly opposed senseless orders from Dr. Uiberreither, the regional Nazi party leader, and, for example, defied the order to destroy the "Hauptbrücke" (or Main City Bridge). Kaspar met a tragic end when he was mugged and shot to death.

1934 - 1938: Hans Schmid

Schmid was chairman of the Styrian Christian Socialists’ Teachers' Association. He was made mayor by the Vaterländische Front (Patriotic Front). From 1949 to 1957 he worked as a financial advisor.

1919 - 1934: Vinzenz Muchitsch

First Social Democratic mayor. Started as a baker’s assistant and trade unionist.

1918 - 1919: Mag. Adolf Fizia

Last mayor during the time of the monarchy.

1912 - 1914: Dr. Robert Fleischhacker
1897 - 1912: Dr. Franz Graf

Responsible for the construction of the Graz Opera House

1885 - 1897: Dr. Ferdinand Portugall
1873 - 1885: Dr. Wilhelm Kienzl
1870 - 1873: Dr. Moritz Ritter von Schreiner
1867 - 1870: Moritz Ritter von Franck
  • socialbuttons